GCHS 2020 National Honor Society

GCHS 2020 National Honor Society
Posted on 01/21/2020

There were 43 Garden City High School students that were formally inducted into the National Honor Society on Monday, January 20th in the Garden City High School auditorium.  There were 31 senior members of the chapter that were also recognized for their membership during the event. 

The new inductees include: Carlos Acosta, Abigail Aguilar, Jesus Alvarado, Lilian Alvarado, Emilio Arteaga, Christian Argueta, Tylee Biera, Kathryn Byers, Julie Calzonetti, Ashleigh Chappel, Loribeth Claro-Martinez, Shantal Covarrubias, Mya Cruz, Cayden Cundiff, Connor Cupp, Alexander DePaz, Anna Diep, Abigail Ellermann, Jasmin Flores, Lizbeth Guevara, Selah Hageman, Kiana Hankins, Brody Hoff, McKenna Jagels, Jodi Kalarikkal, Zaung Kee, Adam Kennington, Hannah Kipp, Camden Knight, Jimmy Lieu, Rilee McGraw, Lane McKenna, Katie Mongeau, Sofia Montoya-Ortiz, Elly Murrell, Kayla Nguyen, Tam Nguyen, Jessica Pammenter, Abigail Parr, Symone Simmons, Adair Torres, Ryan Wessels, and Zach Warren.

Students are selected through an application process.  To be eligible for membership, students must have high academic standards.  Members must also meet high standards of leadership, service and character.  Selection is made by a faculty council.

Leadership is based on the student’s participation in two or more community or school activities, or election to an office.  To meet the service requirement, the student must have been active in three or more service projects in the school and community.  Character is measured in terms of integrity, behavior, ethics, and cooperation with both students and faculty.

The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of Scholarship, Leadership, Service, and Character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since their beginnings in 1921.